Leave Me With Something

It’s funny to watch you do it,

each step charging forward, but your weight held back.

Pulling, looking, searching, begging

for me to give you a reason.

Then, I realize this is your first time.

You’ve never left before.

Just because you’ve never left before

doesn’t mean you get it easy.

No, you have to look me in the eyes.

You do and you show me

everything you’re taking with you

away from us.

I see us sitting on the edge of a couch together, huddled under blankets with hot chocolate steam rising and blurring your glasses.

I see you calling after me, pouting because I didn’t let you open my car door.

I see more moments than we’ll ever have together flit past me, and I want to reach out and grab one- tuck it in my back pocket to 

save a piece of you. 

I feel smaller, emptied, taken as you blink at me.

The blinks erase those final doubts from your mind,

patting you on the back, coaxing you to take the final steps.

It’s not funny anymore, watching you leave.

It’s my weight holding you back, not yours

and you look better without it.

Leave a comment